Single-OP Out of State

At the top of the out of state entries was that of Jim Callow, K8IR, from Michigan’s northern peninsula. Jim got off to a great start with the 20 meter opening, and kept the pedal to the metal thereafter to turn in the top low power and overall out of state score. From southern Michigan Ken Meier, W8MJ, turned on the amplifier and won the high power category. Ken is also the president of the Mad River Radio Club, sponsor of the OQP. In the QRP category, Tom Warren, K3TW, took the honors from Maryland with a fine 200 qso effort. Vratislav Vaverka, OK1KT, took top DX honors.